Under Massachusetts state law a prospective couple must jointly file their intention to marry with the clerk of any municipality in the Commonwealth. The law requires the following:
- A mandatory three-day waiting before the clerk can issue a marriage license.
- Bring valid identification; drivers license, social security card or unexpired passport.
- Have the below listed information ready at time of application:
- Planned date of marriage.
- Name, current address, telephone number and planned name changes for each.
- Name, address and telephone number of the officiant. (Person who will perform/officiate the marriage ceremony)
- The officiant must be registered with the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to solemnize the marriage.
Once the marriage license is issued:
- It is valid for sixty (60) days from the date the intentions have been filed.
- It may be used in any municipality in the Commonwealth.
- It is not valid in any state other than the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
The fee for "Marriage Intention" in the Town of Ashfield is $15.00. The fee varies within the Commonwealth since it is set by the municipality.
The fee for a certified copy of "Marriage License" is $10 payable to the town of Ashfield.
For an appointment, additional information or questions email Ashfield Town clerk or phone 413-628-4441 Ext 5.